Reform UK Reportedly Gets $97M From Two Crypto Billionaires
Nigel Farage’s Reform UK reportedly received £72 million ($97 million) in donations from two crypto billionaires within a 24-hour window, a scale of political funding that lands squarely inside an unresolved debate over Reform UK crypto donations and Britain’s tightening rules on where political money can come from.
The claim originates with original reporting by The Guardian, which reports that Christopher Harborne gave £36 million to Reform UK, matching a £36 million donation from Ben Delo. The paper reports a combined £72 million from the two donors within 24 hours, describing the pair of gifts as jointly the largest donations ever made to a UK political party.
Reported Reform UK donations in 24 hours
£72 million
What the $97 million Reform UK donation claim says
The headline figure is a conversion, not a fresh sterling number. CoinDesk reports dollar equivalents of $48.7 million for each £36 million gift and roughly $97 million for the combined total, values it calculated itself rather than pulling from an independently fetched exchange rate.
That distinction matters when reading the topline. The $97 million is CoinDesk’s arithmetic on The Guardian’s sterling figures, so the dollar precision should be treated as approximate secondary framing rather than an official denomination.
The reported amount and 24-hour timeline
Harborne’s contribution was announced on Saturday, 12 September 2026, and The Guardian says it understands the money had already been received by Reform, not merely pledged. Reform told the paper it planned to hire about 400 campaign managers in target constituencies using the funding.
The 24-hour interval is attributed to the reporting rather than independently reconstructed from transfer timestamps. Exact transaction times, and whether both gifts cleared inside a single calendar day, were not disclosed in the available accounts.
Currency and donation records to verify
No original donation filing, bank receipt or directly fetched party announcement is available; the claim rests on The Guardian’s reporting and named statements. The Electoral Commission donation register and Reform’s own site could not be retrieved, so the receipt-versus-register status remains a reporting-level fact rather than a documented one.
The two crypto billionaires behind the reported donations
Both donors are established figures in the digital-asset industry. CoinDesk identifies Harborne as an investor in Tether and Bitfinex, and Delo as a co-founder of the derivatives exchange BitMEX.
Donor identities and individual contributions
The Guardian reports the two gifts as identical in size, with Harborne’s £36 million matching Delo’s earlier £36 million. Beyond the crypto affiliations noted by CoinDesk, the billionaire descriptions are attributed to the news coverage and were not checked against an independent wealth assessment.
Crypto wealth versus cryptocurrency payments
The most common misread of a story like this is to assume the money moved on-chain. CoinDesk explicitly states that The Guardian report did not specify whether the donations were paid in cryptocurrency, and any suggestion that the £72 million was transferred in crypto is not asserted by the fetched reports.
Donations from people whose fortunes are tied to Tether, Bitfinex or BitMEX do not establish that the gifts themselves were denominated in tokens. Payment currency, transfer records and settlement method were not disclosed, so the crypto label here describes the donors, not the rails.
What remains to be established about the political funding
The timing sits against a shifting regulatory backdrop. On 25 March 2026 the UK government announced a £100,000 annual cap on overseas-elector donations and a moratorium on political donations made in cryptocurrency, to be delivered through amendments to the Representation of the People Bill.
A detail largely missing from broader coverage is the enforcement timeline. The official announcement says that when the legislation comes into force the changes apply retrospectively from 25 March 2026, and regulated recipients will have 30 days to return unlawful donations received in the interim.
Disclosure and donor eligibility questions
None of that establishes a breach. The current legislative text, its commencement status and any donor-specific applicability were not obtained, and an absent public register entry proves neither non-disclosure nor wrongdoing. Reform asserts compliance, and electoral-roll timing and donor status were not independently confirmed.
The context is also not clean. The Guardian reports a Metropolitan Police inquiry into Reform’s finances and a parliamentary standards investigation into a £5 million personal gift to Farage before his 2024 election; both Reform and Farage deny wrongdoing, and an investigation does not establish a violation.
The unresolved facts are concrete: the precise receipt status of each gift, the exact transfer timing inside the reported 24 hours, the payment currency, and independent confirmation of donor eligibility. Until an official filing or donor disclosure surfaces, the story stands as verified reporting rather than documented record.
Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial or investment advice. Cryptocurrency and digital asset markets carry significant risk. Always do your own research before making decisions.
